Observers

The list of CLDSA observers serves as a resource for our members’ long distance swims. Swimmers should check if their chosen skipper is also a CLDSA observer and if not find an observer listed here or ask their chosen support (or second) to apply to be an observer.

Observers who wish to be listed must complete an observer application form and should refer to our observer’s checklist as guidance for each swim.

Observers will be approved by the CLDSA Committee. Observers must also be familiar with the CLDSA swim rules. After a successful long distance swim, observers should complete the Observer Report which serves as the record for the swim.

Observer Application

Name(Required)
Do you have a valid level 3 first aid certificate?
I hereby confirm:

Observer Report

Swimmer Name(Required)
Category(Required)
Confirm swimmer swam in terms of CLDSA swim rules
CLDSA Observer Name(Required)
Skippers Name(Required)
I hereby confirm:(Required)

Observer's Checklist

  • Are you a CLDSA approved swim observer?
  • Are you familiar with the latest CLDSA’s swim rules include the categories and correct swim attire by category?
  • You are in charge of timing the swim.
  • We recommend a first aid qualification
  • Following a successful swim, observer to fill in swim report.

Observer list

Name Contact Number Email Address
Allan Taylor 0828225202
Andrew Chin +27837081390
Andries Theart +27823242508
Antonino Rosario Scalabrino 0833060616 scalabri@iafrica.com
Arafat Gatabazi +27762893413 arafatig@gmail.com
Brigitte Melly brigittemelly@gmail.com
Cecilia Schutte info@ceciliaschutte.com
Charl du Plessis charlduplessis1@yahoo.com
Darrel Conrad Knight +27732754439
Dave Welensky +27824482501
David Meinert dave@davemeinert.com
Derrick Frazer +27827705798 derrickfrazer9@gmail.com
Elmarie Warrington +27828501524
Herman van der Westhuizen 0832844927 herman@waterskillssa.co.za
Howard James +27763406154
Howard Warrington howard@warringtonbrokers.com
Jon Vickers 0716754953 jon@vickerselectrical.co.za
Katherine Persson +27738194870
Lianne Lembeck +27828834028
Lindsay De Kock 0834482458 lindsay.dekock@gmail.com
Lindsay Finch +27833099752 vetvision@wirelessza.co.za
Mark Preen +27828811211
Maryse Pretorius info@capetownswim.com
Mervyn Bremner +27827747487
Michelle Petring 0832698673 mkpetring@gmail.com
Neil Hopkins neil@biokinetics.biz
Otto Thaning +27(0)217131830
Roger Finch 0832500392 rogerfinch39@gmail.com
Samantha Whelpton samwhelpton@gmail.com
Sarah Houston +27723686712 scarymalary@gmail.com
Scott Tait +27 76 156 2619 swimcapetown@gmail.com
Shoneé Cornelissen 0836322888 shoneecornelissen@gmail.com
Tony Sellmeyer 0824571242
Walter Hart 0727955371 walter@sicitur.co.za
Zani Taitz Zanitaitz@gmail.com